Domestic Violence Facts and Statistics   *  Domestic Violence Video Presentations  *  Online CEU Courses

From the Editorial Board of the Peer-Reviewed Journal, Partner Abuse
www.springerpub.com/pa
and the Advisory Board of the Association of Domestic Violence Intervention Programs
www.battererintervention.orgwww.domesticviolenceintervention.net

pic1

pic2

pic3

pic4

pic5

pic6

Resources for researchers, policy-makers, intervention providers, victim advocates, law enforcement, judges, attorneys, family court mediators, educators, and anyone interested in family violence

INTERNATIONAL
DOMESTIC VIOLENCE RESEARCH

Below is a list of scholars and the countries in which their research was conducted (not including the U.S., Canada, the U.K., Australia and New Zealand)

Prepared by John Hamel, LCSWW, San Francisco, CA (USA) www.johnhamel.net
January, 2014

NOTE:  The scholars listed below have been cited in the literature review by Esquivel-Santovena, Lambert & Hamel (2013), Partner Abuse Worldwide, part of the Partner Abuse State of Knowledge Project (www.domesticviolenceresearch.org)

AFRICA     ASIA     MIDDLE EAST     EUROPE     LATIN AMERICA     CROSS-REGIONAL

 

AFRICA

 
BANGALADESH

William Sambisa
MEASURE Evaluation, Carolina Population Center
William.Sambisa@gmail.com

Jay G. Silverman
Harvard School of Public Health
677 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115  USA
jsilverm@hsph.harvard.edu

BOTSWANIA

Lindiwe I. Zungu
Department of Health Studies, College of Human Sciences
University of South Africa, South Africa
zunguli@unisa.ac.za

CAMEROON

Amina P. Alio
Department of Community and Family Health
University of South Florida
13201 Bruce B. Downs Blvd., MDC56
Tampa, FL, 33612 USA
Amina.alio@gmail.com

ETHIOPIA

Sileshi G. Abeya
Department of Reproductive Health, Population and Nutrition
School of Public Health
Addis Ababa University
P.O. Box 9086, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
garomaabe@yahoo.com

Negussie Deyessa
School of Public Health, Addis Ababa University
PO Box 9086, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
negussie.deyessa@psychiat.umu.se

Mulusew Gerbaba
Department of Population and Family Health
College of Public and Medical Sciences, Jimma University
Jimma, Ethiopia
kylmilcom@yahoo.com

KENYA

John Gordon Simister
Birkbeck College (University of London)
J.Simister@mbs.bbk.ac.uk

Marleen Temmerman
International Centre for Reproductive Health, Ghent University
De Pintelaan 185 P3, Ghent, Belgium
temmerman@ugent.be

MOZAMBIQUE

Antionio Eugenio Zacarias
Department of Public Health Sciences, Division of Social Medicine,
Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden
antionio.zacarias@ki.se

NIGERIA

Diddy Antai
Center for Global & Population Health
The Angels Trust Nigeria
Casablanca Street, Wuse 2
Abuja, Federal Capital Territory, Nigeria
theangelstrust.nigeria@gmail.com

Paul O. Dienye
Department of Family Medicine
University of Port Harcourt Teaching Hospital
Port Harcourt, 50004, Nigeria
pdienye@yahoo.com

S.N. Obi
Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology,
University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital, Enugu, Enugu, State, Nigeria
nobis@rbow.net

Eme T. Owoaje
Department of Community Medicine, College Of Medicine
University of Ibadan, PMP 5116, Ibadan, Oyo State, Nigeria
emeowoaje@yahoo.com

RWANDA

Michel Alary
URESP, Cenre de Recherche FRSQ du CHA Universitaire de Quebec
Quebec, Canada
malary@uresp.ulaval.ca

Adamson S. Muula
Department of Public Health, Division of Community Health,
College of Medicine, University of Malawi, Blantyre, Malawi
muula@email.unc.edu

Joseph Ntaganira
Department of Epidemiology, School of Public Health
National Unversity of Rwanda, Kigali, Rwanda
jntaganira@yahoo.com

SOUTH AFRICA

Jesse D. Gass
Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health
New York, New York  USA
Jdg2140@columbia.edu

Debra Kaminer
Department of Psychology, University of Cape Town
South Africa
Debbie.Kaminer@uct.ac.za

Lu-Anne Swart
Institute for Social and Health Sciences, University of South Africa
P.O. Box 1087, South Africa
swartl@unisa.ac.za

TANZANIA

Laura Ann McCloskey
Department of Kinesiology and Community Health
232 Huff Hall, Champaign, IL  61820
lmcclosk@illinois.edu

Nathan Thielman
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC, USA
n.thielman@duke.edu

UGANDA

Thorkild Tylleskar
Centre for International Health
University of Bergen, Armauer Hansen Bldg. N-5021
Bergen, Norway
thorkild.tylleskar@cih.uib.no

Charles AS Karamagi
Department of Paediatrics and Child Healt, Makerere University
P.O. Box 7072, Kampala, Uganda
ckaramagi2000@yahoo.com

Nazarius Mbona Tumwesigye
Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, School of Public Health
Makerere Unversity College of Health Sciences, Kampala, Uganda
naz@musph.ac.ug

Iryna B. Zablotska
Natinal Centre in HIV Social Research
University of New South Wales, Sydney 2052, Australia
i.zablotska@unsw.edu.au

MULTIPLE COUNTRIES IN AFRICA

 
Neil Andersson
Centro de Investigacion de Enfermedades Tropicales
Universidad autonoma de Guererro, Acapulco, Mexico
neil@ciet.org

Kristin J. Hung
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
330 Brookline Avenue, East Campus
Kirstein 317, Boston, MA, 02215
khung@bidmc.harvard.edu

Ilene S. Speizer
Department of Maternal and Child Health
Gillings School of Global Public Health
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC, USA
speizer@email.unc.edu

ASIA

 
CHINA

Ko Ling Chan
Department of Social Work and Social Administration
The University of Hong Kong
Pokfulam, Hong Kong 852, SAR, China
eklchan@hkucc.hku.hk

April Chiung-Tao Shen
National Taiwan University, Department of Social Work
Taipei, Taiwan
acshen@ntu.edu.tw

William L. Parish
University of Chicago, Chicago, IL  USA
w-parish@uchicago.edu

Catherine So-Kum Tang
Department of Pyschology, Chinese Universi8ty of Hong Kong
Hong Kong, China
ctang@cuhk.edu.hk

Wang Yan
Division of Maternal and Child Health, School of Public Health
Peking University Health Sciences Center, 38 Xueyuan Road
Haidan District, Beijing, China 100191
hotgyq@sina.com

EAST TIMOR

Michelle Hynes
Center for Disease Control and Prevention
Division of Reproductive Health
4770 Buford Hwy, NE MS K-23
Atlanta, GA, 30341  USA
yzh7@cdc.gov

INDIA

Srinivasan Chokkanathan
Department of Social Work, National University of Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
srinivasan.chokkanathan@gmail.com

Vaishali Gaikwad
Department of Community Medicine
MVJ Medical College & RH
Dandupalya, Kolathur Post,
Hosakote, Bangalore Rural – 562114
drvbg@yahoo.com

Umesh S. Kamat
Department of Preventive & Social Medicine, Goa Medical College
Bambolim, Goa, India
neetumesh@rediffmail.com

Anant Kumar
Department of Rural Management
Xavier Institute of Social Service
Dr. Camil Bulcke Path, Ranchi 834001, India
anantkumar@xiss.ac.in

Anita Raj
Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Boston University of Public Health
801 Massachusetts Ave., CT Bldg., 3rd Floor
Boston, MA  02118, USA
anitaraj@bu.edu

NEPAL

Ramesh Adhikari
Geography and Population Department
Mahendra Ratnba Campus, Tribhuvan University
Kathmandu, Nepal
rameshipsr@gmail.com

Prabhat Lamichhane
Center for Research on Environment, Health and Population Activities
Kusunti, P.O. Box 9626, Kathmandu, Nepal
prabhatone@gmail.com

Azusa Oshiro
Graduate School of Health Sciences, University of the Ryukyus
207 Aza-Uehara, Nishihara-cho, Okinawa, Japan
oshiroz@ktf.biglobe.ne.jp

JAPAN

Mieko Yoshihama
University of Michigan School of Social Work
1080 S. University, Ann Harbor, MI 48109-1106, USA
miekoy@umich.edu

SOUTH KOREA

Jun Sung Hong
School of Social Work, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
1010 W. Nevada Street
Urbana, IL, 61801  USA
jhong23@illinois.edu

Mieko Yoshihama
School of Social Work, University of Michigan
1080 S. University
Ann Harbor, MI  48109-1106, USA
miekoy@umich.edu

SRI LANKA

Masamine Jimba
Department of Community and Global Health
Graduate School of Medicine, University of Tokyo
Hongo 7-3-1, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo 113-0033, Japan
mjimba@m.u-tokyo.ac.jp

THAILAND

Wichai Aekplakorn
Community Medicine Centre
Faculty of Medicine, Ramathbodi Hospital
Mahidol University
Bangkok 10400, Thailand
rawap@mahidol.ac.th

PHILIPPINES

Jessica A. Fehringer
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
615 N. Wofe Street, 4th floor
Baltimore, MD 21205, USA
jfehring@jhsph.edu

VIETNAM

Gunilla Krantz
Department of Community Medicine and Public Health
The Sahlgrenska Academy at the University of Gothenbug
Goteborg, Sweden
gunilla.krantz@socmed.gu.se

Nguyen Dang Vung
Department of Demography, Faculty of Public Health
Hanoi Medical University, Hanoi, Vietnam
njdvung755@yahoo.com

MIDDLE EAST

 
EGYPT

Manas K. Akmatov
Department of Public Health Medicine, School of Public Health
University of Bielefeld
Bielefeld, Germany
manas.akmatov@uni-bielefeld.de

Shokria Labeeb
Faculty of Nursing
University of Assiut
Assiut, Egypt
shokriafady@yahoo.com

IRAN

M. Faramarzi
Department of Midwifery, Babol University of Medical Sciences
B abol, Islamic Republic of Iran
Mahbob330@yahoo.com

A.Ghazizadeh
Department of Epidemiology and Social Medicine,
Medical Sciences University of Kurdistan
Sanandaj, Islamic Republic of Iran
mrghazi@yahoo.com;

Zahra B. Moghadam
Faculty of Nursing and Midwifery
Tehran University of Medical Sciences
Tohid Square, East Nosrat Street
Tehran, Iran
amirrastegar51@gmail.com

Haidar Nadrian
School of Nursing and Midwifery
Isamic Azad University-Sanandaj Branch, Sanandaj, Iran
Nadrian@razi.tums.ac.ir

J. Richter
Centre of Child and Adolescent Mental Health
Postboks, 4623 Nydalen, 0405, Olso, Norway
jrichterj@web.de

ISRAEL

Zvi Eisikovits
University of Haifa
Faculty of Social Welfare and Health Studies
School of Social Work, Mt. Carmel, 31905, Israel
zvi@soc.haifa.ac.il

Muhammad M. Haj-Yahia
Paul Baerwald School of Social Work
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Mt. scopus, Jerusalem  91905  Israel
mshajyah@mscc.huji.ac.il

Moshe Sherer
Bob Shapell School of Social Work, Tel Aviv University
Ramat Aviv, Tel Aviv 69978, Israel
Sherer1@post.tau.ac.il

Zeev Winstok
University of Haifa
Faculty of Social Welfare and Health Studies
School of Social Work, Mt. Carmel, 31905, Israel
zeevwin@research.haifa.ac.il

JORDAN

C.J. Clark
Department of Global Health and Population
Harvard School of Public Health
Boston, MA, U.S.A.
carijoclark@post.harvard.edu

M. Khawaja
Center for Research on Population and Health
Faculty of Health Sciences, American University of Beirut
Beirut, Lebanon
mk36@aub.edu.lb

Abdelhakeem M. Okour
Department of Public Health and Community Medicine
Jordan University of Science and Technology
P.O. Box 3030, Irbid 22110, Jordan
aokour@just.edu.jo

LEBANON

Jo Ann M. Farver
Department of Psychology, University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA  USA
Farver@usc.edu

Jinan Usta
Department of Family Medicine, American University of Beirut Medical Center
P.O. Box 112036, Beirut, Lebanon
ju00@aub.edu.lb

PAKISTAN

Tazeen Saeed Ali
School of Nursing, Aga Khan University, Stadium Road
PO Box 3500, Karachi 74800 Pakistan
tazeen.ali@aku.edu

Unaiza Niaz
Psychiatic Clinic & Stress Research Center
6C, 7th, Commercial Lane, Zamzama Boulevard
Phase V, D.H.A., Karachi, Pakistan
drunaiza@cyber.net.pk

Rubeena Zakar
Department of Public Health Medicine, School of Public Health
Bielefeld University, Universitat Strasse 25, 33615, Bielefeld, Germany
rubeena499@hotmail.com
rubeena_ashraf.zakar@uni-bielefeld.de

TURKEY

Leyla Karaoglu
Inonu University
Medical Faculty, Public Health Department
44069, Malatya, Turkey
lkaraoglu@inonu.edu.tr

Faruk Kocacik
Department of Sociology
Cumhuriyet University, Faculty of Science and Literature
58140 Sivas, Turkey
kocacik@cumhuriyet.edu.tr

Aziz Kutlar
Department of Economics, Cumhuriyet University
Faculty of Economic and Administrative Sciences
58140 Sivas, Turkey
akutlar2001@yahoo.com

Gul Aldikacti Marshall
Department of Sociology, College of Arts and Sciences
University of Louisville
Louisville, KY, 40292
gul.marshall@louisville.edu

Naim Nur
Cumhuriyet University, 58140, Sivas, Turkey
naimnur@yahoo.com

Recep Yildizhan
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology,
Training and Research Hospital, School of Medicine
Yuzuncu Yil Unversity, Van, Turkey
recepyildizhan@yahoo.com

EUROPE

 
ALBANIA

Genc Burazeri
Department of Public Health, Faculty of Medicine
University of Tirana
St “Dibres,” N371, Tirana, Albania
gburazeri@yahoo.com

BELGIUM

Hans Verstraelen
Department of Obstetrics and Gynaocology
Ghent University Hospital
De Pintelaan 185, 9000 Ghent, Belgium
Hans.Verstraelen@UGent.be

BOSNIA

Lisa R. Muftic
Department of Criminal Justice, University of North Texas
P.O. Box 305130, Denton, TX, 76203-5130
muftic@pacs.unt.edu

FINLAND

Tuija Leppakoski
Department of Nursing Science, University of Tampere
33014 FIN, Finland
tuija.leppakoski@uta.fi

GERMANY

Heidi Stockl
Social & Mathematical Epidemiology Group
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
15-17 Tavistock Place, London WCIH9SH, UK
Heidi.Stoeckl@lshtm.ac.uk

NORWAY

Berit Schei
Department of Public Health and General Medicine
Norwegian University of Science and Technology
N-7489 Trondheim, Norway
berit.schei@medisin.ntnu.no

PORTUGAL

Carla Machado
Departamento de Psicologia, Universidade do Minho
4710-057, Braga, Portugal
cmachado@iep.uminho.pt
 
RUSSIA

Nadia Abdala
Yale School of Public Health
60 College Street, New Hven, CT  06520 USA
nadia.abdala@yale.edu

Natalia V. Lokhmatkina
Department of Family Medicine
St. Petersburg Medical Academy of Postgraduate Studies
45 prospect Prosvescheniya, St. Petersburg, Russia 194291
lokhmatkinan@yahoo.com

SLOVENIA

Polona Selic
Department of Family Medicine
Faculty of Medicine, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
polona.selic@siol.net

SPAIN

Belen Zorrilla
Servicio de Epidemiologia, Direccion General de Salud Publica
Consejeria de Sanidad, Comunidad de Madrid
C. Julian Camarillo 4B 28037, Madrid, Spain
belen.zorrilla@salud.madrid.org

SWEDEN

Ingela Radestad
Department of Caring sciences and public Health
Mälardalens University, Västerås Sweden
ingela.radestad@stillbirthalliance.org

LATIN AMERICA & CARIBBEAN

 
BARBADOS/JAMAICA/TOBAGO

Elsie LeFranc
SALISES, The University of the West Indies
Mona, Kingston 7, Jamaica, West Indies
erlefranc@yahoo.co.uk

BRAZIL

Anu Manchikanti Gomez
Center for Research on Gender and Sexuality
San Francisco State University
835 Market Street, Sutie 517
San Francisco, CA  94103  USA
anugomez@sfu.edu

Lilia Blima Schraiber
Grupo de Pesquisaq e Intervencao Violenica e Genero nas Praticas de Saude
Departamento de Medicina Preventiva
Faculdade de Medicina, Universidade de Sao Paulo
AV. Dr. Arnaldo 455 2 andar – Cerqueira Cesar
01246-903 Sao Paulo-SP
vawbr@usp.br

Ligia Kiss
Department of Global Health and Development
London School of Hygience and Tropical Medicine
36 Gordon Square, London WC1H OPD, UK
Ligia.Kiss@lshtm.ac.uk

Leides Barroso Azevedo Moura
Universidade de Brasflia
Campus Universitario Darcy Riberiro
70910-900 Brasillia, DF, Brasil
lmoura@unb.br

M.E. Reichenheim
Instituto de Medicina Social
Universidade do Estado do Rio de Jaeiro
Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
michael@ims.uerj.br

CHILE

Gonzalo Bacigalupe
University of Massachusetts, Boston
Graduate College of Education, Counseling and School Psychology Department
Gonzalo.Bacigalupe@umb.edu

COLUMBIA

Patricia Campo
Department of Population and Family Health Sciences
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Baltimore, MD  USA
pat.ocampo@utoronto.ca

Christina C. Pallitto
Department of Population and Family Health Sciences
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Baltimore, MD  USA
cpallitt@jhsph.edu

GUATEMALA
Mira Johri
Unite de Sante Internationale
Centre Hospitalier de l’University de Montreal
Montreal, Canada
mira.johri@umontreal.ca

HAITI

Anastasia Gage
Department of International Health and Development
Tulane University, 1440 Canal Street, Suite 2200
New Orleans, LA  70112, USA
agage@tulane.edu

MEXICO

Betania Allen-Leigh
Reproductive Health Division, Center for Population Health Research
National Institute of Public Health, Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico
ballen@insp.mx

Audrey Hokoda
San Diego State University, California, USA
ahokoda@sdsu.edu

Yoko Sugihara
Miyazaki International College, Miyazaki, Japan
ysugihar@miyazaki-mic.ac.jp

NICARAGUA

Mariano Salazar
Centre for Demography and Health Research
Nicaraguan National Autonomous University, Leon, Nicaragua
mariano.salazar@epiph.umu.se

Eliette Valladares
Centre for Demography and Health Research
Nicaraguan National Autonomous University, Leon, Nicaragua
Eliette.valladares@epiph.umu.se

PERU

Swee May Cripe
Perdana University, Graduate School of Medicine
Block D1, MAEPS Building, MARDI Complex
Jalan MAEPS Perdana
43400 Serdang, Selangor Darul
Ehsan, Malaysia
smcripe@perdanauniversity.edu.my

MULTIPLE REGIONS ACROSS THE GLOBE

 
Karen M. Devries
Gender, Violence and Health Centre
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
London, UK
karen.devries@lshtm.ac.uk

Claudia Garcia-Moreno
Department of Gender, Women and Health
World Health Organization
20 Ave Appia, 1211, 27-CH, Switzerland
garciamorenoc@who.int

S.V. Subramanian
Department of Society, Human Development and Health
Harvard School of Public Health
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
svsubram@hsph.harvard.edu

Murray Straus
Professor of Sociology and Co-Director
Family Research Laboratory
University of New Hampshire, Durham, NH 03824
murray.straus@unh.edu

  • ONLINE CEU COURSES

    • Domestic Violence Worldwide (4 hours)
    • Evidence-Based Treatment of Intimate Partner Abuse, Part 1: Research, Theory and Assessment (8 hours)
    • Evidence-Based Treatment of Intimate Partner Abuse, Part 2: Treatment (8 hours)
    • Domestic Violence: Contemporary Research and Criminal Justice Responses (4 hours)
    • Domestic Violence and Child Custody (4 hours)
    • Intimate Partner Abuse Assessment (4 hours)
    • Working with Victims: Best Practices (4 hours)

    Click Here for More Information